OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: OpenWRT web interface suggestion

The content of this topic has been archived on 27 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Hi all. I'm a developer of wifiadmin, a GPL project aiming to create a web interface in PHP for any wireless extensions enabled driver.

I wonder if wifiadmin could be intergated into OpenWRT, so as to act as its web interface.

Wifiadmin is written in PHP4, it is 30something kilobytes tar.gzed and runs with minimun installation effort. We have been developing for about a year now, and the project has reached a certain level of maturity.

Our homepage can be found here. It would be nice to see the two projects work together! I must say of course that am a newbe in the WRT world, since our wireless nodes are usually old PCs with pci cards(and wifiadmin).

Taken from OpenWrt home page

OpenWrt provides a minimal linux environment suitable for booting the router and providing basic functionality.

All others functionality (like your wifiadmin) can be added with ipkg installation. Built a working package, publish your repository and someone will give it a try.

Hi InDio,

WifiAdmin looks like an excellent project - very nice work indeed.  It's projects like yours that will help to make Community Wireless networks more accessable to a wider user-base, which can only help their growth and popularity.

The Wireless-Tools package is supported under OpenWRT, but unfortunately, the driver for the WRT54G's wireless interface is proprietary and hasn't been fully reverse-engineered.  So not all features of Wireless-Tools work on the WRT54G.  For full control, you need to use the proprietary 'wl' userspace app.  'wl' is available as a package for OpenWRT.