OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: Wifi router reccomendation: dual-band, gigabit eth, mu-mimo, 802.11ac

The content of this topic has been archived on 30 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Hello,

I'm about to move house (flat) and I'm going to need a new wifi router. I've always wanted to use OpenWRT but given that I work remotely I couldn't risk to brick my router.

I'm a complete noob with OpenWRT but use Linux systems (Debian and the likes) daily.

I've had a look at the wiki (ToH) but couldn't figure out an answer to my question.

So, would you have any recommendation for a wifi router filing the following criteria ? :

- gigabit ethernet ;
- dual band ;
- mu-mimo ;
- 802.11ac ;
- well supported (fully compatible with openwrt).

Thank you in advance smile

step3

Hello,

Thank you for your answer.

So, the Linksys WRT1900AC (v2) seems to be a good pick. That's actually what my first searches led to. But, then, I stumbled upon this post (new account, I can't post url... so here is the id=50173 *) with a big warning as the first post of the thread followed by 500+ pages (through which I didn't went).

glp wrote:

Because of these issues, we would currently recommend against purchasing this device until we have the missing pieces of software to make it functional with OpenWrt.

Is there any update (on the lack of open-source/libre driver for the marvel chip)?

Thank you for your help.

step3

* forum mods/admins should, at least, allow links pointing to the forum for new accounts... By the way, the error message isn't a proper English sentence, it reads "Too more links in message. Allowed 0 links. Reduce number of links and post it again."

(Last edited by step3 on 1 Nov 2016, 14:42)

Hello,

Thank you for your answer.