OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: Bad Setting/flashing

The content of this topic has been archived on 29 Mar 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Hi everyone, I am a newbie on openwrt and have some problem when I set it up

First I can flash openwrt  (snapshot 20050202) to my WRT54G v2 successfully then I want to set the openwrt as the gateway to internet and to different subet (have 4 ports at back to 4 different subent 192.168.1-4.XXX) Then my night mare begin

I use nvram to set vlan2 have port 2 then I reboot. After that, I can't ssh or telnet my WRT54G. I try failmode, but still can't ping it.
Then I try to shorten the 15&16pin, now I can pin it when it boot up (only by WAN port) , but still can't telnet it

Then I re-flash openwrt to the router, but it still can't access the router and only answer ping message when it boot up.

After try many times, I restore the linksys firmware (ver 2.00.8). after flash it, the router still not accessable, but I can ping the router. I use nmap to scan the router and none of the port is open. I don't know what can I try now.
And how can I setup openwrt as gateway to internet, dhcp server to 4 different subnet

Please give me some advices, Thank you

Hi

I was in a quite similar situation recently with the difference that my machine is a -GS model.

I couldn't telnet into the router after flashing it, not even in failsafe mode.

As a last resort I followed the instructions on voidman-is-a-geek's page and that did it. Shortening the pins at the right moment I was able re-flash it with a different firmware and now it works.

I'm afraid that's all that you can try, too. But maybe one of the veterans here knows an alternative?

Cheers
D. O.

Maybe a serial-cable or a JTAG-cable could help you.

Hi benoity,

I have near the same problem but with a WRT54GS rev 1.0

Then my night mare begin

My too sad