OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: New Experimental install on V.3

The content of this topic has been archived on 20 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Im relatively new to the OpenWrt scene and have only started to realize it's potential.  To get my feet wet, I bought three V.3 WRT54G's.  I lodaed the jffs2 bin and it booted up fine.  I am not used to the Telnet/SSH commands.  I have putty and WinScp3, but dont know how to load a package.  I read through the docs and forums and found a lot of info but the commands...  is it wget? filename? directory?  Also are there custom web interfaces?  I am going to continue to read through the site.  I just feel like a kid with a new toy without the batteries. big_smile

- first you have to connect via telnet or ssh to the router

command: telnet 192.168.1.1

- second you have to edit the file /etc/ipkg.conf

in this file you should have an url which is reachable, so if you can't connect to the internet you need a local webserver with the package direcotry

editing: vi /etc/ipkg.conf

-third you run following command:

ipkg update

now you can install a package by running following command on the router:

ipkg install "Packagename"

-dryades

Thank you sir!  I was able to update the ipkg.  My next step will be to get a web interface...I haven't seen any for this build.

I too just flashed my new v3 router with OpenWRT the experimental build with jffs2.  It worked flawlessly.  I could not do the boot_wait instructions as the tftp server did not accept the firmware from my client.  I updated ipkg manager and have loaded some packages.  I am still trying to learn how to set everything.