OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: The online documentation could be *much* clearer.

The content of this topic has been archived on 6 May 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

As someone who, a while back, tried to figure out how to get OpenWRT onto a Linksys WRT54GL, I have to say that the online documentation leaves quite a bit to be desired.  By way of demonstration, let me explain what I went through trying to figure out how to do that initial installation.

First, I checked the Supported Devices table, where I found the two entries related to the WRT54GL, both of which refer to the "Broadcom 5352" platform.  But I happen to know that the CPU model of my V1.1 router is "BCM3302 V0.8" (as subsequently listed by "cat /proc/cpuinfo").  So how do those two pieces of information relate to each other?  If I was a beginner, I'd be wondering if this was even possible anymore.  Does this represent a model of the WRT54GL that doesn't support OpenWRT, I'd be asking myself?  How would I know?  And it gets worse.

At the kamikaze release page here -- http://downloads.openwrt.org/kamikaze/release.txt -- I'd like to know if my router can handle the latest version of kamikaze.  But what I read is:

brcm-2.4 - Broadcom devices requiring Broadcom wifi
                 (everyone migrating from Whiterussian)

brcm47xx-2.6 - Netgear WGT634U, Broadcom Devices without Broadcom wifi
                 (you can use this instead of brcm-2.4 but wifi won't work)

But, again, if I'm a beginner, what does any of that even *mean*?  If I'm a beginner, how would I know if I have a Broadcom device that does or doesn't "require" Broadcom wifi.  How would I be able to tell?