OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: Mounting a USB drive formatted HFS+ (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

The content of this topic has been archived on 5 May 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

I'm new to OpenWRT so please bear with me. I really hope I've done my research. I spent all last night learning how packages and init scripts work, how to check the system logs, etc. I've just run out of ideas as to why this isn't working.

So I have a USB enclosure that holds two 2TB drives. Both drives are formatted HFS+, as they were originally used on a Mac. I'd really like to keep them that way if at all possible. I noticed that HFS+ has good filesystem performance on this router, so I was optimistic (I mean, how else would you test it?). I hope to hook this up via the USB port on my TL-WR1043ND and share over Samba.

I downloaded all the packages I thought I'd need, got everything set up nicely but for some reason, the volumes just won't mount! I'll run through some of the boot process and some debugging I've done to figure out where the problem is. I've trimmed out parts of the log having to do with other stuff for readability.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ar71xx-ehci ar71xx-ehci: Atheros AR91xx built-in EHCI controller
kernel: ar71xx-ehci ar71xx-ehci: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
kernel: ar71xx-ehci ar71xx-ehci: irq 3, io mem 0x1b000000
kernel: ar71xx-ehci ar71xx-ehci: USB 2.0 started, EHCI 1.00
kernel: usb usb1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
kernel: hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found
kernel: hub 1-0:1.0: 1 port detected

ohci_hcd: USB 1.1 'Open' Host Controller (OHCI) Driver
info kernel: Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...
info kernel: scsi0 : SCSI emulation for USB Mass Storage devices
info kernel: usbcore: registered new interface driver usb-storage
info kernel: USB Mass Storage support registered.