OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: Would be nice to have some advice for my next project.

The content of this topic has been archived on 22 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Hi all!

I'm Kasper from Belgium and discovered openwrt yesterday while browsing the internet for collecting info for my next hobby project. I immediately ordered a TP-LINK TL-WR703N from ebay to enter the wonderful world of openwrt. Mainly I'm a web developer (php,sql,ajax,jquery and so on...) and started doing some arduino stuff since last year. While the arduino is also a wonderful piece of technology it has its limits. it does not have enough processing capabilities for my next project. I think openwrt can help me doing what I want. However I face a problem... I'm not into linux (yet :-).

basically I want to connect an arduino to the USB port from my TL-WR703N together with a webcam for streaming video (using an USB hub). I understand I can use the openwrt/linux command line to send/receive serial data to/from the arduino. It would be great to bypass the terminal with a web interface hosted on the TL-WR703N. In the past I placed my web interfaces on the arduino but it lacks processing power and memory to handle streaming webcam video. That's why I'm here ;-)

1) does the USB from the TL-WR703N has enough bandwidth for streaming video and controlling an arduino over serial?
2) Is the 4mb flash memory from the TL-WR703N enough to install lighttpd so I can use php serial class to communicate with the arduino through a web interface? Is php the best technology to do the trick or is there something better to bypass the terminal?

Any info and suggestions are welcome.

Peace!

1. yes.
2. it’s tight. there will only be a few hundred kb free for a default image and up to 1mb free for a totally slimmed down custom image.