OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: UMTS -> router -> analog phone ?

The content of this topic has been archived on 28 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Hi,

So far I have used my OpenWRT boxes only as routers and IoT gateways.
I am new to telephony, but I need to get my head around it now.

The problem:
This oh so progressive country has decided that analog phone lines are legacy technology and will be taken down.
Unfortunately the future has not quite arrived yet... So I am about to lose my phone line, but there is no fiber line to my house (and there probably never will be, unless someone digs a 15km trench just for me).
All there is is UMTS.

The solution:
Would the following work?
- UMTS dongle on a router with OpenWRT + Asterisk/chan dongle or FreeSwitch + GSMOpen to convert UMTS voice calls to/from VOIP
- A Lantuq based OpenWRT router with https://github.com/olivluca/danube-voip to convert VOIP to analog FXS
- hook up the existing analog base station to the FXS port of the router, continue to use the old DECT devices in the house.

Am I on the right track?
Is this feasible?
Or will I lose too much of the audio quality?

Usually a separate ATA (Analog Telephone Adapter) box is used for VOIP calling.  This box has an Ethernet input which issues ordinary IP packets and one or more analog phone outputs.  The CPU in the ATA box handles the VOIP protocols usually with a proprietary firmware.

Analog hardware that can be driven directly by OpenWrt is not common.

Analog hardware that can be driven directly by OpenWrt is not common.

on LEDE it is possible

On all lantiq xway and xrx200 router with SLIC-120 chipsets for the FXS ports is telephone support general possible.
(other lantiq FXS chips like SLIC-121 i think too).

I know it is possible to use the FXS-ports on a Arcor EasyBox 803A Astoria ARV752DPW22
see:
https://forum.lede-project.org/t/use-um … calls/5158