OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: Internet Access Restriction

The content of this topic has been archived on 30 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Hi @ all,

i'm pretty new to this openwrt thing. Everything is working so far. But i don't know how to setup a Internet Access Restriction. I want to allow a specific computer Internet Access only for a defined time. How can i realize this. Is it done by cron + iptables ? I hope somebody can help me with this. Thanks a lot

der_Kief

(Last edited by der_Kief on 19 Nov 2006, 21:50)

Hi -

I personally do it semi, my children are limited by time to access the internet.
Basically I have 2 different dhcp setups - I give my children different IP's according to time.
At night they get an ip which is blocked in iptables so they only can get and send email.
The switch is done by cron, I would prefer to use the time module of IPtables, but that require that the kernel is compiled with that option, which RC6 is not, some say it will come but until then - there is the half good way.

hope you can use the information smile

Hi,

thanks for the useful information. I think i give it a try ( because children don't hear what adults say smile  )
Hopefully the time module of IPtables is integrated soon. Or is there maybe another possibility to realize
access restrictions driven by time ?

der_Kief

ok,

here is my version

I use an USB disk mounted on /opt/

I did :
15 minute lease  time.
The 15 min lease time make sure that the IP will change inside a 15 minute window.

nvram set lan_dhcp_lease=900
nvram commit

mkdir /opt/etc
mv /etc/ethers /opt/etc

cp /opt/etc/ethers /opt/etc/ethers.open
cp /opt/etc/ethers /opt/etc/ethers.closed

ethers has the list of MAC-address to IP
edit ethers.closed so the closed ip's are in the closed range.
edit ethers.open so the open ip's are in the closed range.

edit crontab: