OpenWrt Forum Archive

Topic: VPN without OpenVPN?

The content of this topic has been archived on 13 Apr 2018. There are no obvious gaps in this topic, but there may still be some posts missing at the end.

Hello all. I've been using OpenWrt since about RC4 or so, so I'd say I'm as familiar with it as the next guy. I am new to VPNs, however. I have a Pocket PC Phone edition, and it has an option to login to a "Work" network via VPN (or a Home network in my case). For the VPN tunnel, my options are "PPTP" or "L2TP". There is no "OpenVPN" option. Can anyone point me in the right direction to get me started to making a self-contained VPN endpoint.  Preferably with DHCP to the clients with the same IP Range as for Wired/Wireless clients. I am using the RC6 release of OpenWRT. I am also using WebIF^2. I have installed pptpd and pptp packages and am wondering: is that all that I need.

A side note: When using Webif^2 to install the openvpn-webif and hswebif packages failed because files in /etc/init.d/ already existed, and the new packages wanted to overwrite them. I deleted the files and then installed them manually. Oh, yeah. Is there some reason that pptpd runs on startup even though it is turned off in webif^2?

I have pptpd running on my Wl-500gx with OpenWrt Kamikaze 2.4 kernel. I think pptpd is enough, but you need the following kernel modules loaded to support MPPE encyption: ppp_mppe_mppc, sha1, arc4
You can set the IP range for clients in /etc/pptpd.conf
e.g.
remoteip 192.168.0.201-204

I tried DHCP, but it didn't work on the first attempt, so i switched to the other solution.

Edit:
Don't forget the iptables routing rules, so your clients have access to your local net or the internet.

(Last edited by MMCM on 7 Dec 2006, 11:36)

A good starting point to configure a PPTP VPN server for OpenWrt is the PPTPDHowto in the wiki.

In webif^2 you have a GUI to configure PPTP client and server.

(Last edited by forum2006 on 7 Dec 2006, 15:10)